T.C. Williams Community Advisory Committee Resolution

WHEREAS, the Alexandria City School Board seeks to formalize the T.C. Williams Community Advisory Committee as a Superintendent's committee, established to be in compliance with Developmental Special Use Permit ("DSUP") #2002-0044, Condition #69, adopted by the Alexandria City Council; and

WHEREAS, DSUP #2002-0044, Condition #69 states that ACPS shall provide a permanent forum for the discussion and resolution of neighborhood issues that arise as a result of the ongoing operation of the new high school; and

WHEREAS, the School Board is committed to the goals of community engagement for the benefit of continuously improving the operations of T.C. Williams High School and its relationship with its adjoining neighbors.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ALEXANDRIA CITY SCHOOL BOARD:

- 1. That there is hereby codified by the Alexandria City School Board a T. C. Williams Community Advisory Committee (the "Advisory Committee");
- 2. That the Advisory Committee shall consist of at least the following members, one of whom shall be annually appointed as Chair of the Advisory Committee by the ACPS Superintendent:
 - a. An ACPS Department of Educational Facilities staff member and a member of the ACPS Department of Communications, both of whom shall be designated by the Superintendent;
 - b. The T.C. Williams Principal (or designee);
 - c. The T.C. Williams PTSA President (or designee);
 - d. One T.C. Williams student, designated by the Superintendent to serve a one-year term;
 - e. An Alexandria City Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities staff member, designated by DRPCA;
 - f. One community member at large, appointed by the Superintendent for a two year term, who lives or represents an entity located within a 5,000 foot radius of the boundaries of the T.C. Williams parcel; and
 - g. Community members from the adjoining neighborhoods appointed by the following associations for two-year terms.
 - i. Seminary Hill Association (2 Members)
 - ii. North Ridge Citizens Association (2 Members)
 - iii. Taylor Run Civic Association (1 Member)
 - iv. Seminary Civic Association (2 Members)
 - v. Chapel Hill Homeowners Association (1 Member)

Other than for good cause, the Superintendent may not alter the civic associations' appointments;

- 3. That the Superintendent maintains oversight of the operation of the Advisory Committee;
- 4. That the Advisory Committee community members may serve no more than three consecutive

terms, unless an exemption waiver is granted by the School Board;

- 5. That the School Board liaisons to T.C. Williams High School, (or other Board members assigned by the Board Chair if they are unable to serve), shall be liaisons to the Advisory Committee on behalf of the Board;
- 6. That the functions of the Advisory Committee members shall be to:
 - a. Attend scheduled meetings which shall be open to the public;
 - b. Work within the framework established by the Superintendent for the needs and improvements of the T.C. Williams school campus and surrounding neighborhoods;
 - c. Act as liaisons for the neighborhoods and groups they represent to provide input on issues and opportunities;
 - d. Bring community values, knowledge, and ideas to the table; and
 - e. Inform the adjoining neighborhoods of the meetings and invite input;
- 7. That the purpose of this committee is to provide a forum for discussion and resolution of neighborhood issues arising in the ongoing operation of the high school. The committee will be non-voting and will operate by consensus;
- 8. That upon request by the School Board, the Superintendent will provide reports on the committee's activities to the Board;
- That staff assistance to the Advisory Committee shall be managed by the staff of the Alexandria City Public Schools and, when necessary, the Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities; and
- 10. That the Advisory Committee shall determine its meeting schedule, which may be either on a regular basis or as conditions require.

ADOPTED:

October 27, 2016

Thur Bland

Karen A. Graf, School Board Chair

Jeing Ban

Jennifer Abbruzzese, Clerk of the Board

ATTEST: