ACPS School Board Election Overview

- In 1994, Alexandria switched to electing School Board members.
- Previously, School Board members were appointed by City Council.
- Elected Board Members serve a 3-year term beginning on January 1 following the November election.
- Board terms coincide with City Council terms
- 2012: Elections transitioned from May to November
- Next election: November 2024

Board Structure

- 9 Board Members, 3 districts (A, B, C), each electing 3 members
- Board Members serve concurrent terms
- Board Chair and Vice Chair are elected annually by the Board at the organizational meeting

Year	Term	New Members	Change in Superintendent During Term	Months between Inauguration and Change in Superintendency
1994	1994-1997	6	Yes	-23 (days)
1997	1997-2000	4	No	
2000	2000-2003	2	Yes	14.2
2003	2003-2006	5	No	
2006	2006-2009	8	Yes	10.7
2009	2009-2012	3	No	
2012	2013-2015	7	Yes	7.9
2015	2016-2018	5	Yes	16.4
2018	2019-2021	5	No	
2021	2022-2024	6	Yes	5.2

Data Summary

Election D	Election Date: May 3, 1994					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
А	1994	Green	Digilio	Brooks	2	
В	1994	Danforth	Eberwein	Lindeman	3	
С	1994	Collins	Hennig	Kenealy	1	
				Total New Members:	6	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
	Paul Masem	Resign date: 6/8/1994	1. First elected year in Alexandria. Previously, SB members were appointed. 2.
1994-1997	Herb Berg	Contract start: 2/1/1995	Superintendent Masem resigned before the new Board was installed. He served 7-years. 3. Members in bold served on the appointed Board and won their election in 1994.

Election I	Election Date: May 6, 1997					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
А	1997	Baynard	Digilio	Brooks	1	
В	1997	Danforth	Eberwein	Eaton	1	
С	1997	Goldhaber	Johnson	Kenealy	2	
				Total New Members:	4	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
1997-2000	Herb Berg		Members bolded were reelected.

Election D	Election Date: May 2, 2000					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
A	2000	Baynard	Digilio	Cheatam	1	
В	2000	Danforth	Wilkoff	Eaton	1	
С	2000	Goldhaber	Johnson	Kenealy	0	
				Total New Members:	2	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2000-2003	LHerp Berg	Resign date: 8/31/2001	Members bolded were reelected.
	Rebecca Perry	Contract start: 2001	

Election D	Election Date:May 6, 2003					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
A	2003	Baynard	Luby	Schmalz	2	
В	2003	Danforth	Wilkoff	Eaton	0	
С	2003	Lewis	Foran	Wilson	3	
				Total New Members:	5	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2003-2006	Rebecca Perry	Contract start: 2001	Members bolded were reelected.

Election D	Election Date: May 2, 2006					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
А	2006	Gorsuch	Newsham	Rivera	3	
В	2006	Eberwein*	Folkerts	Peabody	3	
С	2006	Maness	Campbell	Wilson	2	
				Total New Members:	8	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2006-2009	Rebecca Perry	Contract end: 5/18/2007 Resign date: 1/18/2008	1. Board voted in May, 2007 to not renew Perry's contract and let it expire on June 30, 2008 in a 5-4 vote. Board then parted ways with Perry in January 2008 when she resigned. 2. Eberwein ran and won in 1994 and 1997. He then ran again in 2006 and won. 3. Members bolded were reelected in 2006.

Election D	Election Date: May 5, 2009					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
A	2009	Gorsuch	Carter	Morris	2	
В	2009	Williams	Fokerts	Peabody	1	
С	2009	Maness	Campbell	Wilson	0	
	Total New Members:				3	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2009-2012	Mort Sherman	IContract start: 2008	Members bolded were reelected in 2009.

Election Date: November 6, 2012					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members
А	2012	Campbell	Graf	Kapsis	3
В	2012	Booz	Keating	Williams	2
С	2012	Hennig*	Campbell	Lewis	2
				Total New Members:	7

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2013-2015	IMort Sherman	8/29/2013	 Hennig served previously in 1994. Crawly served as Interim Superintendent and
	Alvin Crawley	Contract start: 7/1/2014	then was hired as Superintendent. Members bolded were reelected in 2012.

Election D	Election Date: November 3, 2015					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
A	2015	Campbell	Graf	Cardwell	1	
В	2015	Anderson	Lorber	Nolan	3	
С	2015	Gentry	Campbell	Lewis	1	
	Total New Members:				5	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2016-2018	Alvin Crawley	Resign date: 8/10/2017	Members bolded were
	Grea Hutchinas	Contract start: 7/1/2018	reelected in 2015.

Election D	Election Date: November 6, 2018					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
A	2018	Rief	Greene	Suarez	3	
В	2018	Anderson	Lorber	Nolan	0	
С	2018	Gentry	Alderton	Thornton	2	
				Total New Members:	5	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2019-2021	l Grea Hutchinas		Members bolded were reelected in 2018.

Election D	Election Date: November 2, 2021					
District	Year	Member	Member	Member	New Members	
A	2021	Rief	Greene	Bailey	1	
В	2021	Simpson-Baird	Ignacio	Booz*	3	
С	2021	Harris	Alderton	Elnoubi	2	
		: 		Total New Members:	6	

School Board Term	Superintendent	Contract Start/End	Notes
2022-2024	Greg Hutchings	Resign date: 6/1/2022	1. Booz served previously in 2013. 2. Board is doing a search and currently has an Interim Superintendent. 3. Members bolded were reelected in 2021.